Posts Tagged ‘Draft History’

Buffalo Bills’ Best, Worst First-Round NFL Draft Picks in Team History

Sunday, April 6th, 2014

The Buffalo Bills have made 48 first-round picks, including C.J. Spiller in 2010, since joining the NFL in 1970. (Photo: Kevin Hoffman — USA Today Sports)

BBD Assistant Editor: Ryan Talbot

Since joining the National Football League in 1970, the Buffalo Bills have had 48 first-round picks. Much like every other team in the league, there have been some colossal hits and misses and some quality players in between.


Examining the 2008-12 Draft Success of AFC East Teams

Thursday, July 11th, 2013

Ryan Talbot examines how C.J. Spiller and the Buffalo Bills’ draft picks over the past five years stack up against their AFC East competition. (Photo: USA Today Sports Images)

BBD Staff Writer: Ryan Talbot

The NFL is known for its parity, mostly because the league tells us about it often. The league raves about how they have averaged five new teams in the playoffs since 2000. The article linked in the previous sentence was from the start of the 2011 season. To make sure the trend continued, I looked up the teams that made the playoffs in the 2011-2012 season. Six new teams joined the playoffs in this span (Texans, Broncos, Bengals, 49ers, Giants and Lions). Four new teams made the playoffs last season (Colts, Redskins, Seahawks and Vikings). The average is safe as the league enters the 2013-2014 season.

Unfortunately, parity seems to be avoiding the hierarchy of the AFC East. Sure, the Miami Dolphins and New York Jets have each made playoff appearances in the last five seasons, but the division itself has belonged to New England. The Patriots have reigned over the AFC East, winning the division the last four seasons. The Patriots have won the division championship 10 times since 2011, only falling to second in 2002 with a 9-7 record and 2008 with an 11-5 record.

The Dolphins won the AFC East in 2008, but from that point on they’ve rotated with the Jets for second and third place. The Dolphins finished second in the division 2012, but they finished third in three consecutive seasons from 2009-2011. The Jets haven’t won the division since 2002, but they have made four playoff appearances since, including in back-to-back years in 2009 and 2010.

The Bills? They have consistently been the bottom-feeders of the AFC East. They have finished fourth in the division for five consecutive years, have not made the playoffs since 1999 and have not won a division championship since 1995.


  • Categories

  • Search BBD Archives

  • Archives